Board Policies

Last revised: November 14, 2011


Membership of Board

The Board of Directors of the Cedar Falls Community School District, Black Hawk County, in the State of Iowa, shall consist of seven members elected at large by the qualified electors of the district. This is pursuant to the Code of Iowa, Section 277.23, which specifies that in any district including all or part of any city of 15,000 or more population, the board shall consist of seven members.

All members represent the district as a whole and each member shall reside at the time of election in the district as provided by law. A member relinquishes his/her position on the board upon changing residence to another district. Each member shall be elected for a term of four years at the regular election held on the second Tuesday in September of odd numbered years. A vacancy occurs when a board member resigns, forfeits or otherwise leaves the office. A vacancy also includes, but is not limited to, the following: failure to be properly elected, failure to qualify within the time fixed by law, failure to reside in the school district, a court order declaring the seat vacant, conviction of a felony, three violations of the open meetings law, or conviction of a public offense in violation of the oath of office.

If a vacancy occurs prior to the expiration of a term of office, the vacancy will be filled by board appointment within 30 days of the vacancy. The newly-appointed board member will hold the position until the next scheduled school election.

If the board is unable to fill a vacancy by appointment within 30 days after the vacancy occurs, the board secretary will call a special election to be held no sooner than 60 days and not later than 70 days after the vacancy occurred. A board member elected at the special election will serve the remaining portion of the unexpired term.

Any person who shall, at the time of election, be an eligible elector of the district may become a candidate for the place on the Board of Directors by filing nomination papers with the secretary of the board not later than 65 days nor less than 40 days prior to the election. Nomination petitions shall be filed not later than 5:00 P.M. on the last day of filing. Each candidate shall be nominated by petition signed by not less than 50 eligible electors of the district. To each such petition shall be attached the affidavit of an eligible elector of the District that all of the signers thereof are electors of the district and that the signatures thereto are genuine.

At a regular or special meeting of the board held prior to or on August 15, the board shall appoint a secretary and a treasurer. These officers shall be appointed from outside the membership of the board for terms of one year beginning with the date of appointment, and that their appointment and qualification shall be entered of record in the minutes of the secretary. They shall qualify within ten days following appointment by taking the oath of office in the manner required by Section 277.28 of the Code of Iowa and filing a bond as required by Section 291.2 of the Code of Iowa and shall hold office until their successors are appointed and qualified.

The board will employ a superintendent of schools, who shall be the executive officer of the board and shall have such powers and duties as may be prescribed by policies adopted by the board or by law.

Download PDF
Date of Adoption

July 11, 1977

Date of Revision

January 9, 1989
August 9, 1993
September 16, 1996
September 23, 2002
November 13, 2006
November 14, 2011

Date of Review
May 11, 2015