Friday, September 9, 2016

ACT Scores Highest Average Achieved

District District

Cedar Falls' class of 2016 had an average composite score of 24.5, the same as last year. It is the highest average the district has ever achieved.  Dan Conrad, Cedar Falls Community Schools' secondary education director, noted the district maintained its highest-ever average despite a growth in the number of students who took the ACT. "We did have a pretty big increase in the number of students who took the test," he said. "We are also pleased with the increase in the percentage [...]

Read Full Post

District Recognized by Iowa Governor's STEM Advisory Council

Img 0342
District District

The Cedar Falls School District was recognized by the Iowa Governor's STEM Advisory Council as a distinguished partner in advancing STEM education for youth, not only across the district but throughout the state as well.  A plaque of recognition was presented to district administrators by Jeff Weld, Ph.D., Executive Director of the STEM Council, for valued contributions to the statewide program, including: Iowa's nationally-acclaimed Iowa STEM Teacher Externships program is co-manage [...]

Read Full Post

Tuesday, September 6, 2016

Thursday, September 1, 2016

Junior High FCS Teachers Honored

School Pride Holmes Junior High

The Best In Iowa teaching awards were presented for service to the FCS profession to Holmes and Peet FCS instructors Megan Droste, Tammy Knox, Maxine Barrows, and Brenda Patterson.BEST stands for Belong (Professional Membership, Professional Leadership, Professional Committees, Community/School Involvement), Excel (Mentoring, Honors/Awards, Presentations, Published Articles), Study (Graduate Credits, Workshops, Certifications), and Travel (School Visits, Business Internship, Business [...]

Read Full Post

Tuesday, August 30, 2016